top of page

Ridiculously Caffeinated All-Nighter

This past Sunday my roommates and I had a very caffeinated night with coffee face masks and face scrub. (Don't tell them the picture exists.) As we applied the brown goo to our faces we discussed what are coffee preferences were and how to successfully pull all-nighters.Due to my blog I had to chime in.

Two hours into our monthly all-nighter I decided to taste test my roommates with some caffeine. We had three different coffee, Borinquen (Puerto Rican), Britt Peruvian Pachamama, and Britt Montecielo (Central America). No sugar or creamer was added, they were prepared as cute espresso shots, I didn’t tell my roommates the order they would be served in either, just to get genuine reactions. (I was honestly hoping to hear insults thrown around after every taste test but it didn't get to be that interesting.)

I served the Pachamama first. It is quite bitter and has a very strong taste. The faces on two of my roommates when they took their first sips clearly stated they would most probably never drink it again straight up. It was the first one so there was no way of knowing how much caffeine it had but it did its job of waking all of us up quite well.

45 minutes later came the second brew from Puerto Rico. It is bittersweet with a mild taste, good enough to drink on its own. (Yum!) I knew exactly what it tastes like but for the study I needed to hear my roomies thoughts. This one was all nighter approved before the last round came around. (Proud girl, right here!)

About an hour later we were on the verge of bouncing off the walls but still had to go through one more taste test. The Montecielo. This one was easily the least liked by how strong and bitter it was. It also had the best reactions because of how disliked it was. The only roommate that approved of it was not doing the taste test with us and she grew up around it in Central America.

In a unanimous decision the best coffee for an all-nighter would be a bitter sweet dark brew. It has a lasting taste and can be perfectly and easily sweetened by the drinker throughout the night.

After a few essays and a lot of laughs, our all-nighter was completed at 6:53 a.m. and we still had enough energy to not need another cup of coffee in the morning, so we went about our day as we usually did.

bottom of page