top of page

Sweet, Sweet Bubble Tea

Bubble tea should be illegal. Actually, no, the tea can stay it's the bubbles that have to go. The sweet, chewy, dark tapioca beads that sit at the bottom of every bubble tea are addictive doesn't matter whether they are the chewy kind or the type that bursts when bitten into. They are the main reason I drink bubble tea. And believe me I’ve drank A LOT of it.

To put it into perspective, in the past three weekends I’ve drank bubble tea six to seven times. Which is a lot for me because I don’t really take in that much sugar in my diet. Bubble tea has a special type of sugar content. It is an incredibly sweet; it’s like taking a bite out of a cheesecake with every sip.

The only time I have drank boba that has burst I my mouth was in Philadelphia and the bubbles were very slimy and delicate tot the touch. They were watery and when bitten into it created small explosion of tasXLLMte. The drink was a very bright tangerine color and the boba was orange and pink. It was probably the cutest looking treat I had ever drank or eaten. In the current trips to Atlanta I’ve grabbed bubble tea with my best friend and in every case it has been with the ever so addictive chewy tapioca dots. They have a silky texture but are very fun to munch and chew on. They kind of bounce inside the mouth.

There are plenty of different types of bubble tea like fruity, slush or milky. I personally love anything with lychee. It’s the perfect balance of sweetness. And so a new tea addiction begins.


bottom of page