top of page

Bigger on the inside: An inside view into Savannah’s hole-in-the-wall spots

When any of my friends mention going to an actual hole-in-the-wall I usually decline the invitation because being in a small space with a lot of other people scares me. Little did I know that these spaces only look small from the outside.

My introduction to small cute places was about a year ago when at my friend Andrea’s photo shoot I noticed she took small breaks to take bites out of a very gooey, chocolaty treat. It was a crepe that smelled like mid-summer in Paris. "I got it at the cutest cafe bakery that is owned by a French woman! I’ll take you when we’re done here!"

She kept her word. After a few pictures and she video shots, I walked into Le Café Gourmet located right off of the corner of Montgomery and Broughton near City Market. Just like my friend said, we were greeted with a short and sweet "Bonjour!" from the French woman behind the counter.

The first thing to catch my eye were éclairs, along with fruit tarts, madeleine’s and other sweet treats that are put out to draw the eye and the taste buds inside. It looks incredibly small from the outside, with a hobbit-like door and a sign that says its daily specials. In the inside, it is quite comfortable even though not very spacious with a few tables and metal chairs. The tree covering from the street doesn't allow much natural light to come into the cafe, which is part of its appeal.

Totally Awesome Bar and Alleycat Lounge are a little more hidden in the downtown Savannah area. Totally Awesome Bar is underground, I’ve passed a few times by it on Whitaker Street. and never noticed the sign or the staircase leading down to it. It would have never existed to my knowledge if my friend didn’t tell me about it.

“Totally awesome is just plain awesome. I'm a late 80's, 90's kid. So all that nostalgia is great— especially the games. It also helps that it has the most pool tables in a single location, here in Savannah,” the bartender at Totally Awesome Bar told me as he poured my gin and tonic.

"I love Alleycat!" My friend Eddie screams at me wide-eyed when I tell him I have to go and pay a visit to it. Alleycat Lounge was the hardest one to find in the downtown area, it is located between Jefferson Street and Barnard Street, right on West Broughton Lane. The alley entrance creates a feel of exclusivity that plays a major role in the allure. It is a little more sophisticated with a selection of international alcohol and drink but it holds a come-cuddle-with-me charm. With its newspaper printed menu, red leather booths and dim lights it feels as if I set foot back into the 1950’s.

"I want to feel embedded in the place I'm in, not just be where everyone else is, I want to be local," said a customer at the Alleycat Lounge. The places don't feel like the average spot to dine, drink or lounge and this makes them feel like little secrets that need to be kept. Makes me wonder what else is around Savannah just waiting to be discovered.

bottom of page